Kat`s Heroes with heART Nite @ District 319

Posted: June 28, 2011 in My World
Tags: , ,

She is a saint!!

Having worked the past 5 years as a Youth Worker with at risk students, it has allowed me to work with people who have made me a better person with their presence.

Kat Thorsen is our school Art Therapist, who transformed that program with her dedication to the most vulnerable.

She created a safe environment where students could vent without censorship. Her success in creating a dynamic and self-directed ‘girls’ group, which lead with some help by yours truly, to the creation of a ‘Boy’s’ group.

I was honored on numerous occasions when the ‘Girls’ invited me to sit in on their sessions.

I can honestly say I was one of the few male staff members to have this privilege accorded to them by these young women themselves.

The boys need for positive older male role models is obvious. Yet, there is also an equal need to provide positive older male role models to vulnerable young women based upon respect.

I owe this all to Kat, who has become a supportive and cherished friend over the last 3 years we have worked together. She is striking out after this year, to create new programs in the community based on therapy through art.

So it was exciting to go to her first fund-raising art event last week.

Heroes with heART Interactive Art Event

The day before the big event, I helped Kat take down 20 40 X 60 poster boards featuring beautiful sketches of notable gay personalities she had rendered. These drawings were so dynamic, and life-like that I told her they could be sold as is!

But the unique twist to this fund-raising effort, was on the night itself, the audience were invited to finish the pieces of art as they wished.

At the alloted the time, they would be auctioned off individually for the ‘Vancouver Friends for Life’ society.

To enhance the experience on the night, many of the personalities themselves were in attendance.

It really proved to be a wonderful night. At first many of those attending were hesitant to start adding to the pieces.

One can only imagine how one would react with a seven-foot angry drag queen swinging her hang bag, enraged that her portrait had her in a blue dress, when shocking red was the only color fit for this queen!

But all those attending were regal, colorful and the characters in person they appeared in their own portraits.

The event was held at the beautiful District 319 restored cinema at 319 Main Street.

Kat’s brother: Fredrik, is the Key Instructor for the Intersection Media visual arts program for at risk youth, based at 319.

Diva: Tracey Bell! 

So, I was thrilled when he approached me to help him do an interview on camera with Tracey Bell.

Although nervous as I was talking to her ‘cold’ (with no prior research!) she proved to be the lovely and gorgeous lady she is! Love her!

Tracey has a brilliant show where she is ‘8 Divas in 44 minutes’ and her enchanting portrait showed her as a happy child in an oversize wig.

As for me, all I could do was look afar throughout the evening – I just couldn’t make myself apply paint to canvas! To nerve-wracking!

Another dream come true…….

If you followed my adventures on my other blog, you’ll know how much I enjoyed the experience that transformed this city during the 2010 Winter Olympics.

I was eager to meet a key figure who helped bring these games to this city.

Charmaine Crooks is as striking in person as her portrait.

She has served on the International Olympic Committee, and was one of the directors on the committee for Vancouver’s official bid for the 2010 Games.

I was especially touched when she personally thanked me (me!) for working at Aquabus and helping visitors during the games.

And she understood how I felt the day after the games, and I had a panic attack! (Ask  Kat!) Amazing!

Thank you Charmaine!

Hero: Jonny Staub…….

There is a reason why I’m lucky to have been married 20 years to Helen – she is a goddess!

It was her perceptive eye and desire that lead us to get the finished portrait of gay radio personality: Jonny Staub.

Jonny can be heard on The Beat 94.5Fm and was really lovely when he personally came over and thanked Helen for winning his portrait.

It finished a great night when he signed the picture to our sons with the powerful message with:

You are perfect as you are. Never change unless it’s for the better’

Thanx Jonny – you are a class act!

It was a superb night! Congratulations to Kat and her unique fund raising debut!

Links:

Follow the adventures of Kat: http://katthorsen.wordpress.com/

The lovely Jonny Staub: http://jonnystaub.com/

A photo essay of the night by Julia Kozlov:

http://custom.juliakozlov.com/photography/june-23rd-district-319/

 

In the mean time…….

peaacecccceeeeeee out sisters!

 

Comments
  1. Evaline says:

    Your answer was just what I neeedd. It\’s made my day!

Leave a comment